International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre Airtrace
 

MANIRA-Airport® - Analysis methodology for the indicative level of Wildlife risk for an airport

Any animal species, even small in size, may cause substantial damage to an aircraft. However, it proves difficult to clearly qualify whether a given species constitutes a potential danger to aviation, in its broadest sense.  Wildlife numbers need to be evaluated as accurately as possible, and especially birds of a single species present or dominant within a delimited location, and to include birds flying over airports during migration periods.

It is also necessary to take into consideration the many animal populations and their movements within the airport perimeter and the surrounding area. Although the various species frequenting treeless landscapes such as open countryside present a definite risk to aircraft, nonetheless those species that live in wooded or semi-wooded environments are also a genuine hazard. This explains why it is advisable to have a picture of the wildlife situation at the regional level.

This all leads one to believe that the larger an animal is, the worse is the damage caused by a straightforward impact, even when caused by a single individual. However, the presence of a large number of individuals of a single species considerably increases the risk of strikes; this also includes small birds which can flock into groups of lesser or greater size. If the increase in wildlife populations is combined with the increase in the number of movements of aircraft, these being fitted with increasingly quiet jet engines and taking in large quantities of air, wildlife risk at airports is rising. The faster speeds of aircraft when taking off and landing are also tending to increase the severity of damage caused.

Airports must not downplay this risk. This is why appropriate passive and active measures must be put in place.

Even if the analysis of a natural phenomenon is difficult to implement, airtrace has defined a methodology in order to analyze the wildlife indicative risk of an airport.

The software MANIRA-Airport® has been developed with the objective to allow each airport to define its indicative wildlife risk through the methodology defined by airtrace. In the license contract available hereinafter, you will find the necessary information to acquire the software.

In case of interest, please contact us through our e-mail address: info@airtrace.ch

Licence contract

 
International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre

 

International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre
 
News
Airport Wildlife Hazard Awareness (e-learning)[+]
Wildlife Hazard: Self-Assessment of your Airport[+]
Discours du directeur d’airtrace pour la session d’ouverture d'agents polyvalents aéroportuaires[+]
Licence internationale de spécialiste PPA décernée à M. Tonoukouin, inspecteur de l'ANAC[+]
 
International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre International airport environment training centre
 
© 2014 - Design and developed by Gestweb

Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Airtrace
 

MANIRA-Airport® - Analyse du niveau indicatif du risque animalier d'un aéroport

Toute espèce de faune, même de petite taille, peut être à l'origine de dommages importants sur un avion. Toutefois, il s'avère difficile de nuancer clairement si une espèce donnée constitue un danger potentiel pour l'aviation, dans son sens le plus large.  Il est nécessaire d'évaluer au plus près les effectifs de faune, en particulier les oiseaux d'une même espèce présente ou dominante sur un lieu délimité et de tenir compte des oiseaux qui transitent en survolant les aéroports en périodes migratoires.

Il faut également prendre en considération les nombreuses populations d'animaux, leurs déplacements dans l'enceinte aéroportuaire et au voisinage. Bien que les diverses espèces fréquentant les paysages dégagés tels qu'en rase campagne représentent un risque certain pour les aéronefs, il n'en demeure pas moins que les espèces qui vivent en milieu boisé ou semi-boisé constituent aussi un réel danger. C’est pourquoi il convient d’avoir une vision de la situation faunistique au niveau régional.

Tout porte à croire que, plus un animal est de grande taille plus les dégâts engendrés par un simple impact sont importants, même s’ils sont causés par un individu isolé. Cependant, la présence d’un grand nombre d'individus d'une même espèce augmente considérablement le risque de collisions; cela concerne également les oiseaux de petite taille qui peuvent se rassembler en groupe plus ou moins important. Si l'on conjugue l’augmentation des populations de faune à l'accroissement du nombre de mouvements d’aéronefs, équipés de réacteurs de plus en plus silencieux et absorbant de grands volumes d’air, le risque animalier est en augmentation sur les aéroports. Les vitesses de plus en plus importantes des avions à l’atterrissage et au décollage tendent également à l’augmentation de la gravité des dégâts.

Les aéroports ne doivent pas minimiser le risque. C’est pourquoi des mesures passives et actives appropriées doivent être mises en place.

Même si une analyse de risque d’un phénomène naturel est difficile à mettre en œuvre, airtrace a défini une méthodologie dans le but d’analyser et de connaître le risque animalier indicatif d’un aéroport.

Le logiciel MANIRA-Airport® a été conçu pour permettre à chaque aéroport de définir son  niveau indicatif du risque animalier, en tenant compte de la méthodologie développée par airtrace. Le contrat de licence disponible ci-après vous permettra de connaître les modalités d'acquisition du programme. 

En cas d'intérêt, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter via l'adresse e-mail : info@airtrace.ch.

Contrat de licence

 
Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire

 

Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire
 
News
Airport Wildlife Hazard Awareness (e-learning)[+]
Auto-évaluation gratuite du risque animalier de votre aéroport[+]
Manuel International de Recommandations pour la Gestion du Risque Animalier sur les Aéroports[+]
Discours du directeur d’airtrace pour la session d’ouverture d'agents polyvalents aéroportuaires[+]
 
Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire Centre international de formation en environnement aéroportuaire
 
© 2014 - Design and developed by Gestweb